Home | Process | Change Management Committee

As part of the pursuit of quality and continuous improvement, changes and enhancements to existing ASU Research Administration processes and systems must go through a structured and formal change management review process. The Change Management Committee, or CMC, serves as the mechanism and forum to review, approve, implement, and communicate changes and information that impact research administration processes.

  • CMC serves as the forum to review, approve, implement, and communicate changes and information that impact research administration processes.
    • Changes that will have the most widespread impact will be discussed and voted on by CMC.
    • Approved changes will undergo planning and implementation processes, led by CMC members and/or other community members.
  • CMC Agendas are crowd-sourced from CMC Contribution Central
    • ASU research administrators and colleagues in other researcher support roles are invited to submit process change suggestions and react to (up vote or comment on) ideas posted by other community members.
    • Ideas that have 10+ votes on CMC Contribution Central are eligible for CMC consideration.
  • CMC also supports mandatory adjustments required by ASU Leadership, government regulations and guidelines, and/or other sponsor requirements.
    • CMC will discuss and vote on how such changes will be implemented at ASU – looking to move forward with the best approach for each circumstance.

To request changes to any processes within the lifecycle of research and sponsored projects, please submit ideas via CMC Contribution Central (ASURITE sign-on). Community members can alternatively send suggestions to the CMC Voting Member for their College/Group (see CMC Committee Member list below).

Examples of such change requests could include:

  • A request to provide a new topical guide or resource for the research community.
  • A suggestion for how a process could be streamlined or improved in order to reduce administrative burden.

Please review the CMC Contribution Center User Guide for instructions to access the portal and guidance for engaging with the tool. Further information is summarized below, and a CMC High-Level Explainer is also available for additional context.

Note: There is a separate governance process in place for the Enterprise Research Administration System (ERA) to propose and approve enhancements, new functionality, and improvements. If a process improvement idea requires ERA changes, CMC will ensure compliance with ERA Governance approval.

CMC is a group comprised of elected representatives from across the University serving both pre-award and post-award roles. These individuals represent their constituency in helping to facilitate process changes as voting members. The CMC will review and vote on process changes submitted by the research administration community.  

CMC will be overseen by Committee Co-Chairs, Nicholas Petersen and Jessica Robins, and Facilitators, Valerie Keim and Bris Mueller.

Specialty roles have been filled as follows:

  • Communications Lead: Samantha Munguia
  • Committee Secretary: Margaret Zywczyk

Voting members have been nominated and elected to represent their college or an assigned group of ASU units as listed below. These college/group representatives will attend committee meetings, gather input from and disseminate information to colleagues in their College or Group, vote on items brought before the committee, take the lead on assigned items and initiatives, and participate in working groups.

  • KE Financial Services (Post-Award): Nellie Voise
  • KE Research Advancement (Pre-Award): Leslie Daniels
  • Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering Pre-Award: Molly Swindler
  • Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering Post-Award: Jayson Johnson
  • College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (The College) Pre-Award: Barbara Schay
  • College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (The College) Post-Award: Sarah Montgomery
  • Maroon* Group Pre-Award: Christy Ellison
  • Maroon* Group Post-Award: Fernando Zacarias
  • Gold** Group Pre-Award: Melinda Marino
  • Gold** Group Post-Award: Melinda Marino

*Maroon Group (Units that submit ~100-155 proposals per year, and manage ~60-150 active awards): CHS, WATTS, MLFTC, EDSON

**Gold Group (Units that submit ~15-60 proposals per year, and manage ~25-55 active awards): HIDA, LAW/McCain, NCIAS, WPC, CRONKITE, CISA, EOSS, etc.